winging it mum

Birthday Brilliance!

on March 22, 2012

So last week it was my birthday. I was looking forward to it and had been fortunate enough to get LOTS of detailed insight into the day and the plans on behalf of Jasmine. She too was extremely excited about my special day! This excitement must have been shared by Elijah; however he chose to express his feelings by waking at about 3:30am and being up for at least 1 1/2 hours for no reason and even waking up Jas (they share a room and normally Jas sleeps through everything). Jas said “Mummy can you take Elijah to your bed!”. So I did and put him in bed with us and he just wanted “duddles” and to chat! Definitely felt his love but as a result felt exhausted and like I had indeed aged!

Exhaustion aside I was lucky to experience some Birthday Brilliance. By this I mean people went out of their way to make me feel special through their gifts and expressions of love. I want to share some of them with you as I have been challenged and inspired to give in a new way for Birthdays and other special events.

BIRTHDAY BRILLIANCE #1

Brett started at Christmas time a new tradition with Jasmine and I love it. They go to Daiso to buy my present. Daiso is a Japanese discount shop and in Australia everything in the shop is $2.80 (unlike the $2 shop where you get dearer things these days). Jasmine is allowed to go in there and choose anything she wants and Brett will guide her a little if she is too overwhelmed etc. She uses her own money and its great. For Christmas I got a pink drink bottle (which I sadly have smashed at the gym!). As I opened my present I said “what is it?” and she looked at me with bright eyes and said “I don’t know!”. Upon opening the package I found two magazine holder/boxes. She was attracted to the hearts on it – very cute!

BIRTHDAY BRILLIANCE #2

SHEER BRILLIANCE!!!!! Brett again was the mastermind behind this. He and the kids made a video for me! Most of the footage was taken on the weekend, when I wasn’t around – like when I was at the gym, or in the shower and out at the shops. Ha and even when we were around the breakfast table and as I prepared zucchini slice in my PJs with Bed hair! You definitely have to watch this! Ignoring my horrible PJs top and bed hair!!! Or have I now made you focus on this:)

This gift is a winner: I love Brett’s thoughtfulness, I love Jas’ honesty and I love that Elijah is just doing what he does normally 🙂 Brett just put it together using iMovie and luckily he can do this kind of thing quickly and brilliantly! There was a lot of footage that didn’t make the clip and that was just as cute and hilarious. I love this gift. It will be a snap shot in time that I will always be able to look back on and smile at. In my sleep deprived state it reminded me that it was all worth while and that my kids are adorable!!! A nice reminder after a bad night;) I also love that Brett combined something he enjoys doing and made it into something I would love.

BIRTHDAY BRILLIANCE #3

My lovely mother in law Chris and Father in law Col gave me a very thoughtful gift. Part of my present they were giving me was money. Chris loves to play around on the computer and made me a voucher. The voucher was for the OP Shop! Ha ha knowing how much I love OP shopping and that no such voucher exists she made one for me. It also said or the money could be used to put towards sewing lessons which I also am wanting! I love that she took the time to make it and was touched by her thoughtfulness!

Thoughtful gift idea

BIRTHDAY BRILLIANCE #4

Mum had offered to have us over for dinner so I didn’t have to cook! Ah love her! Something else that I love about Mum is that she always asks us what do we want for dinner? I told her I would love something cooked from one of my favourite cooking books “Cooking with Poo”. Poo is a Thai lady has a cooking school in Klong Toey a slum in Bangkok. Her story is inspiring and encouraging and her recipes and food is awesome! So Mum and Jasmine hit the asian grocer got the ingredients and Mum cooked me Thai! It was great and I love Mum’s sense of adventure and willingness to serve as she expresses her love to me!

20120322-211050.jpg

Birthday dinner!

These are just a few examples of people thinking outside the box and making someones day a special one! People acknowledging their love for someone in a special and unique way! Using their skills and abilities to bless others. I hope this inspires you to think outside the box (like it has me!) when it comes to celebrating with family and friends!

What Birthday Brilliance have you experienced? Or do you give Birthday Brilliance to others? Share some stories with me!

Em xx

8 responses to “Birthday Brilliance!

  1. Anita says:

    I love the way the video ends! Perfect!
    And I’d never heard of Daiso, now I want to go there and I like the idea of letting a child choose but knowing that they can’t choose something expensive.

  2. Jodi says:

    Great post. I really love all the birthday brilliance you had. You so deserve it! The video is just beautiful – what a special record of your kids.

  3. Andrea Steele says:

    Oh Em, that video is absolutely priceless. What a thoughtful and beautiful gift. It made me laugh and cry. I love Jaz’s description of you. Hehehehe. You are a much loved Mum, Wife and Daughter. Very Blessed. xoxo

  4. Gabriel says:

    Em, I love your short legs and round head. And the way you always wear something bad or something pretty! But mostly I love how distracted Jas is by the microphone…. bahahahaha :))

Leave a Reply

