winging it mum

In a blink of an eye

on February 1, 2012

In a blink of an eye is an expression used to demonstrate a short period of time. An instant, a second, a jiffy, a heartbeat or a moment. This is an expression that I could use often when referring to my experiences in mothering.

In a blink of an eye:

  • I went from being a teacher who could manage up to 27 kids in a classroom; to being a new mother who struggled to know how to manage one little baby
  • the amount of sleep I got was no longer something I had control over
  • my life changed for the better
  • my ability to love grew dramatically
  • I was blessed beyond words
  • I found myself giving a sympathetic smile to other mum’s with screaming children
  • chatting about the consistency of poo became a natural and common discussion topic
  • the shoulders on my clothes became permanently covered in drool, food, snot and other UFOs
  • I became a mother of two
  • my kids crack each other up! (as seen in the photo of one of their giggling photoshoots)

Ha ha that was fun and by no means is that all I could come up with there! What are some examples that sprang to mind as you read these? I could have gone on forever:)

But I think you get the drift. Life changes when you become a parent. We get around 9 months (at the most) to prepare our minds and houses for this change. But I remember after hearing Jasmine’s cry when she was born, only then did I realize that my life would never be the same again and nor would I want it to be!

Over the last month or so Elijah has again brought this expression to life for me in many ways. He is 16 months old and a blast to be around. In the blink of an eye he went from occasionally walking to walking. He went from saying 4 words to about 20 in a flash. He went from standing next to me to inside my friend’s house to being out side by himself and jumping on an enclosed trampoline!!!! In a blink of an eye he was covered in his nappy rash cream from head to toe, not forgetting to mention he had coated his mouth too;) (NOTE after calling the manufacturer of said cream it was determined he hadn’t coated his insides as none of the excessive consumption side effects came to be!). It’s amazing how quickly and fast they grow!

Jasmine starts kinder on Friday! Ah it seems like only yesterday when Brett and I carried her into our house and looked at each other as if to say now what do we do? In what feels like a short time has actually been three and a half years of joy, laughter, tears, anxiety and love.

I can’t wait to hear your blink of an eye reflections! Also thinking especially of those of you who will be sending you kids off to primary or high school for the first time this week! I can’t imagine what you’re feeling!

Em xx

20120201-144130.jpg

8 responses to “In a blink of an eye

  1. kylee neate says:

    Elijah is so cute.. Jas wow kinder sure new friends thinking of u 2 as well em. Yep blink n miss it! My blink of an eye… Well hard to believe James will be 3 this yr. In the blink of an eye he grew up so big n strong .. he is only 2.5 and size 10 shoes! Some tops size 5! Also started childcare..don’t want him to but he handled it better than me lol.. there he was by mum..n I was no n crying when he couldn’t see me lol. He went from lol speech to hi n waving to everyone. Ha I think he is like he would say hi to the nearest lamp post as well;)..dad was so easy to talk to n I think James will be2.proud he takes after dad in that way 😉 he also in the blink of an eye went from eating fruit veg wheat n rye to none..which caused me to be creative n worried sick.. but we get there.grateful for the journey Russ n I so proud of hi 😉 n the joy tears etc he brings..great work em keep writing Xx

  2. Rachel says:

    In the blink of an eye I became a we. In the blink of an eye I cared about what someone else thought of me. Sleep no longer went unappreciated and negative thoughts hard and sad times were melted away with one little smile or giggle from my girls.

  3. Jodi says:

    Yes I know what you mean Em. It has gone by in the blink of an eye. I feel so priviledged to share this journey with you. I cannot believe that this winter I will be buying size 5 clothes for B. Where has that time gone?

  4. What a beautiful post Em!!! In the blink of an eye (or what feels like the blink of an eye)…we were 17 and hanging out in Warnambool and now we’re 33…whoa Nelly!!!

Leave a Reply

