winging it mum

Thrifty Thursday #1

on January 19, 2012

I am a shopper, hunter of bargains, garage sale gal and op shop junkie! There it’s out there and I feel the better for it. I love sales! When I purchase something on sale I actually “make money”. I take the full price of the item purchased and subtract the sale price from that. This glorious figure that I am left with is the money that I have made, my salary for bargain hunting I guess:). Op shopping and garage sales excite me. As you enter them you never know what you will find. Sometimes you leave empty handed and other times someone has to help you carry your loot to the car! Thrifty Thursday posts will pop up to share some “money making” successes I’ve had recently or ideas on ways we can “make money” whilst having fun with our family and friends. I would love to hear some of your success stories too!

1. Friends of the zoo membership

For Christmas mum gave us as a family friends of the zoo yearly passes. We tried and tested them for the first time today. It worked a treat! We walked straight in, after flashing the card and the zoo was ours. This membership entitles you to unlimited entry into Melbourne zoo, Healesville sanctuary and Werribee open range zoo.We only saw a small section of the zoo today but it didn’t matter because well we could go back again soon. If the kids were playing up you could leave and not feel bad about wasting all that money! I’m looking forward to lots of visits now! You only need to go 4 times to “make money”;) haha

http://www.zoo.org.au/members

2. Amazing toy find!

At a local op shop, we were lucky enough to stumble onto some awesome toys yesterday. When I saw them I actually got excited and wanted to play with them myself. We bought an airplane, fire truck and crane, I decided to leave the garbage truck behind. The level of detail in these toys and their mint condition alluded to one thing – these must have been Grandma’s house toys!!! All up the set cost $11. After showing Brett this set it was decided that we needed to return and get the garbage truck too! Total set now $15!!! I will be putting away the fire truck and crane as they have so many small pieces not ideal to have around a 16 month old.

Bargain hint: For kids toys, I have found that just after Christmas there are amazing toys, books and games that appear in the op shop. My theory is people look at culling their existing toys to make way for all the new toys. Or perhaps it’s a good school holiday activity? Try for yourself, get out there and see what you can find.

How have you “made money” this week?

Em xx20120119-203929.jpg

5 responses to “Thrifty Thursday #1

  1. Gayle says:

    I like to work out how much something costs me in a strange way too! For example if I but a $50 dress and wear it – its a $50 dress, but the second time, its only cost me $25…… and if I wear it 5 times, its only $10!

  2. Mandy says:

    Hi Em, we were fortunate to receive a friends of the zoo gift too. Went to Healesville on Sunday and it was smooth sailing!!!

  3. Anita says:

    I’ve enjoyed all your posts so far Emily. Keep it up.

  4. Joshua Teo says:

    Lol love your blog Ems! Hooray to mum and good work on saving money! 🙂

  5. Natalie says:

    I am an Op-shop fan too and ventured over to Savers in Greensborough yesterday. Got lots of maternity clothes, 2 dresses each for the girls, some games and books and it was all under $50! It was worth the trip but would love to hear from you as to the good local Op-shops! Keep up the good work with the blog too – it will ease the pain of missing you at MOPS! xoxo

Leave a Reply

